Skip navigation

Currently I was using 3 (three) linux distro that is SuSE 10.1, Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron), and PCLinuxOS 2007. I’m not linux expert but I always want to know more about linux. Also i’m not too active and often using linux, basically I still cant (will never) get rid off Windows from my life😛 , cool and great games run on it😀 . Well, I think linux still can’t compete Windows ease of use. Its okay, I will always love linux anyway.

This is a little review and some captures linux distro I use. FYI, my favorite distro is SuSE 10.1 and I still find out why Ubuntu is became so popular.

  • Ubuntu 8.04

Based on DistroWatch, Ubuntu is the most popular linux distro. That’s why I downloaded and install it. I dont know why Ubuntu became most popular distro, SuSE 10.1 is better😀 . Well I think Ubuntu is very organize in the menus and folder, also the repository is complete.

Fresh installation of Ubuntu don’t support restricted multimedia format (such as MP3, AVI), we have to install the codecs from Ubuntu repository. But that don’t work for me, I don’t have internet connection in my home, so i have to manually install the codecs. I’m able to play MP3 from this article, but I still not able to play video format like AVI, DIVX, etc.

Ubuntu 8.04

Ubuntu 8.04

Ubuntu 8.04

Ubuntu 8.04

Ubuntu 8.04

Ubuntu 8.04

  • PCLinuxOS 2007

PCLinuxOS is a great linux distro, it’s support almost all basic requirement of a PC’s, especially it can play various restricted multimedia format. It’s suitable for beginner user that do not know how to set up everything after installation. The minus is maybe lack of packages in the repository.

PCLinuxOS 2007

PCLinuxOS 2007

PCLinuxOS 2007

PCLinuxOS 2007

PCLinuxOS 2007

PCLinuxOS 2007

  • SuSE 10.1

Here comes the best distro, it’s linux SuSE 10.1!.

SuSE is always my favorite distro, main thing is because it graphics and complete packages. SuSE is very details in every aspects, the graphics is so smooth. There’s so many application you can install because it’s using five installation CD or one DVD, and one add-on CD. We don’t have to much internet connection when installing something.

Fresh installation will not play restristed multimedia format, but it’s easy, to play MP3 in xmms just install xmms-lib-mad, or compile and install xine-lib to get Kaffeine and amaroK works, or compile and install MPlayer but you have to settings few thing before MPlayer become comfortable to run.

SuSE 10.1

SuSE 10.1

SuSE 10.1

SuSE 10.1

SuSE 10.1

SuSE 10.1

SuSE 10.1

SuSE 10.1

Ok I realize that multimedia stuff is one of main thing when I decide to choose some distro. What is a PC’s without hearing a music and watching video?😀 . Next I want to try Linux Mint and OpenSuse 11.0. I already download OpenSuse 11.0 DVD ISO, from the screenshot this OpenSuse will be amazing. I have to set up my computer first😛 .

5 Comments

  1. Hey, why is Open suse 10.1 better, you have not mentioned. Why are you not using openSuSE 11.0 which is the latest? Do you feel opensuSe’s package management is better than ubuntu’s (which is originally debian’s) ?

  2. Hi sid,
    Sory the post is not finished yet, you can see my SuSE review above.

    Acctually i don’t know which package management is better, I’m never use sysnaptics or Yast. I install all linux in computer at home. I do all the posts at work, currently using fedora 7..

    Cheers.

  3. It seems you have no decent internet connection.
    Have u ever try Ubuntu’s Repository DVD (5 DVDs)? It allows you to install almost everything.. though it kinda bloated

  4. really? where’s the link?

    Acctually when deciding a linux distro, the ease of installing package is main factor too. Cause i’m not always connected to internet.

    I had no problem with download the package and do manual install.


Leave a Reply

