Skip navigation

My laptop is Lenovo 3000 G430, i don’t really sure what it’s official name. Sometimes it’s called LENOVO IdeaPad G430 953, 953 is my laptop series. I was using openSUSE 11 and Widows Vista as operating system, and here is the result: on openSUSE 11 everything is fine except for the touchpad, wifi, and dial-up modem (maybe), it is not working. on Windows Vista everything is working, thanks to the drivers on Windows Vista version.

Only openSUSE 11 and Fedora 9-10, linux distros that succesfully installed. Ubuntu 8.04 and Linux Mint was failed on installation process.

I think Lenovo 3000 G430 is very Widows Vista oriented, they only provide drivers for Windows Vista. Even I can’t install Windows XP, it’s raised error message when booting from the installation CD. When i try openSUSE 11 installation CD on other laptop, the touchpad is working, but when i try openSolaris 2008 live CD on my laptop, the touchpad is woking😀 . I spend many time to get the touchpad works, it’s just keep failed, it’s gave me a headache just to make the touchpad working. Maybe someone can help me? And also my wifi device still not working even after i get instruction from this sites.

Overall, i almost satisfied with the colaboration of Lenovo 3000 G430 and openSUSE 11, many of hardware device isn’t working on Windows Vista if I dont install the driver, but openSUSE 11 has done a good job. Maybe if the touchpad and wifi is working with openSUSE 11, I will be very pleased and can get rid off Windows😛 . Just sharing my experiences….

Updated 03-08-2009:
Finally WIFI is working using Ndiswrapper, because my wireless PCI device is not supported by Linux at this momment.

My wireless is BCM4310 with device PID is 14e4:4315 as state here it is not supportted😦 , so i install ndiswrapper using OpenSUSE 1-Click Install. Using Ndiswrapper we need INF file from Windows driver which is bcmwl5.inf , i got it from here and here and here, there is 482.1kb and 727.3kb version, just use the 727.3kb version.

Updated 28-09-2009:
Now i’ve got Ubuntu 9.04 installed. Everything work fine except for touchpad need to press Fn+F8 twice to get it working. Wifi NO NEED Ndiswrapper, but sometimes need to turn on wifi from Windows.

Updated 26-03-2010:
Activate wifi toggle first, if the wifi led is not on that’s mean wifi is off. To get wifi on without switching on from Windows, just type “modprobe ndiswrapper” from console as root. The wifi led should light by now. I think this is the way for wifi device that use ndiswrapper to install the driver.

18 Comments

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Sarah

    http://laptopseries.net

  2. Thanks a lot, i’ll give it a try

  3. i use the same laptop lenove g430 3000 series.
    i have done extensive research for the correct version of linux to fit.
    the best ever linux for this lappy is ubuntu desktop 9.04.

    AS u said every thin is working fine.. wifi is exceptionally smooth. no issues with the drivers. only issue is bluetooth i thnk..
    also the touch pad work after u press fn+f8 twice..
    u can thro visto out as i am plannin to do so now for my lappy
    thanks for ur time

    • Hi, finally i had my wifi working using ndiswrapper. Well i need to try Ubuntu 9.04 then, but before i had try ubuntu 7/8 but it failed on installation process.
      And the touchpad still not work with fn+f8 twice. My series doesnt have bluetooth.

      Thanks for your reply..

  4. i have use the samve laptop: lenovo 3000 g430. my wifi doesn’t work, but my touch pad work well. just press fn+f8 twice. my laptop is 2008 series (look at the bottom of your laptop).
    best regard

  5. i got the wifi working with linux mint (ubuntu-based). but i had to turn it on by booting vista first, installing the lenovo drivers, pressing fn-f5, and enabling wifi. of course the wifi hard switch near the left hand must by in the on position as well. after that i booted linux mint and it worked.

  6. Now i also install Ubuntu 9.04, WIFI is running well. Touchpad need to press fn+f8 twice.

    Yes in Linux sometimes to turn on/off wifi need to do it from Windows. This problem is not fixed yet in Linux I think.

    Regards,

  7. Thanks for the info, helped me a lot. I could install Ubuntu 9.10 on Lenovo 3000 G430. Touchpad and Wifi are working fine (wifi does give some DNS issues, still looking at that). I switched to Ubuntu after trying Mandriva 2009 (installed fine, but no wifi/touchpad). I also tried CentOS 5.2, but had issues when X started during boot.

  8. Man!! my laptop model is lenovo3000 G430.
    My touch pad was not working after installing ubuntu but later reading this page, I pressed fn + f8 twice and waalla!! touch pad started working. Thanks man!!

  9. hey your blog really help me for enable my touchpad . i am waiting from 5 days and using external mouse for cursor rotations but now after reading your blog and that shortcut key for touchpad my touchpad works thanks a lot for this help …………… ^_^

  10. great …

  11. @deepwinder:
    Thanks.. glad I can help ..

    • hey gardiary i have a problem with ubuntu 9.04 that is it doesn’t show partitions of hard-disk how can i do that without losing the data will you please help me for solving this problem . i will be thankfull to you for this in advance …..

  12. Happy New Year …. ^_^
    hey do you have any contact email id like facebook , gmail or yahoo please give me your id because i have many questions related to ubuntu 9.04 …

  13. @deepwinder:
    I think u need to go to ‘partition management’ somewhere in Ubuntu menu.
    You need to set the mount point for every partition you have.
    Acctually you should do these when first installing Ubuntu, i remember there’s step for configuring partition.

    Although I do triple boot (Opensuse 11, Ubuntu 10, Vista), I only use Opensuse a lot.

    You can add me on facebook : gardiary@gmail.com

    regards,

  14. touchpad is working now….thanks man…but i can only move the pointer…
    clicking is not ok

    • I dont know about that man, my clicking function is ok.


Leave a Reply

